Personal Property Tax
About the Tax
The County of Rockingham taxes the following kinds of personal property:
The assessment of personal property is made by the Commissioner of Revenue as of January 1 of each tax year. A recognized pricing guide must be used for the assessed value. If a vehicle is not listed in the pricing guide, the assessed value is calculated by depreciated cost. The minimum assessment is $125.00. Rockingham County uses the clean loan value in the January issue of the National Auto Dealers Association pricing guides.
Vehicles registered in the County on January 1st of each year will be taxed. Vehicles not registered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Rockingham County will also be subject to tax if the vehicle is normally garaged, stored, or parked in the County, with the exception of those exempted by law.
A copy of the IRP form from DMV for mileage traveled during the previous year must be attached to the Tangible Personal Property form. The mileage report is required in order to receive apportionment of assessed values on FOR HIRE vehicles with weight of 10,000 pounds or more.
Tangible Personal Property Filing Requirements
All businesses must file a personal property return by May 1 of each year to avoid a late filing penalty of 10% of tax due or $10.00 whichever is greater. An itemized breakdown, including description of property, date purchased and original cost is required. Returns of Tangible Personal Property for personal vehicles are not required to be filed. Rockingham County uses the DMV records of ownership for assessments.
Virginia Law requires you to notify DMV if you sell, trade, or dispose of your vehicles or if you change your address. Additional documents supporting the disposal of the vehicle and/or residency change may be required if information is not updated. Contact the DMV at (804) 497-7100.
Personal property tax rates are set annually by the Rockingham County Board of Supervisors.
Due Date of Payment of Tax Bills
The Rockingham County Treasurer issues tax bills which are due for payment by December 5th of each tax year. Personal property tax bills are applicable to the calendar year in which issued. The assessment is for property owned as of January 1st of each tax year. Penalty for late payment is 10% of the amount of tax owed. The Treasurer will also collect interest at an annual rate of 10% from the first month following the due date until payment is made.
If you receive a bill that is incorrect, please contact the Commissioner of the Revenue office immediately for adjustment.